The Department of English which came into existence with the very inception of the College, became a PG. Department in 1964, and in 1967, introduced a unique degree course as part 3 Double Main with History & English of equal status. Renowned Malayalam literacy critics, Prof. P. Sankaran Nambiar and Prof, MP. Paul were members of the Department. Mar James Pazhayattil, the former Bishop of Irinjalakuda was a member of this Department from 1968 to 1978. The whole teaching community remembers with gratitude the services and leadership of Prof. V.R. Subramanian (H.O.D 1977-1985), the former speaker and financial Minister of Kerala, and Prof N.D. George former Chairman of Thrissur Municipality. Prof N.A. Ouseph and George Menachery, former members of this Department were Chevaliers of Thrissur Archdiocese. Shri. George Menachery (H.O.D 1990-1992) an authority on Church history and Architecture was internationally known for his Thomapaedia. The Department was recognized as a Research centre by the University of Calicut in 1995. The Department has been publishing a journal entitled Conspectus (ISSN 0973-0990). The Department offers certificate courses like Advanced Certificate of Proficiency in English (ACOPE) for PG students and Certificate of Proficiency in English (COPE) for UG students.
Milestones of the Department.
1919– Inception of English Department
1964- Introduction of P.G course.
1967- Introduction of BA Double Main (English& History) course.
1995- Upgradation as a Research Centre of English.
2015- Golden Jubilee Celebrations of the P.G. Dept.
2016– Introduction of the Language Lab.
2019- Silver Jubilee Celebrations of the Research Centre.
2020– Introduction of Cambridge English courses and other foreign language courses under the banner of Santhome Institute of Indian and Foreign Language ( SIIFL)
2021– MoU was signed with Jubilee Nursing School, Nehru Arts& Science College, Coimbatore.
DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH
Get in touch with Us!
St.Thomas College (Autonomous) Thrissur - 680 001, Kerala, India