St. Thomas College was founded as an educational institution in 1889 by Rt. Rev. Adolphus Edwin Medlycott, the Vicar Apostolic of Thrissur. The University of Madras gave formal affiliation to the institution in April 1919 with the institution becoming a Second Grade College, with Fr. John Palocaren as the first Principal. The College rose to the status of a First Grade College in March 1925. With the formation of Universities in Kerala, the College was affiliated to the University of Kerala in 1957 and to the University of Calicut in 1968. St. Thomas College (Autonomous), has a noteworthy history of imparting education to many generations and the institution thrives to greater excellence in teaching, training and research. Salient Features of St. Thomas College (Autonomous), Thrissur, are the following: 

  • College with Potential for Excellence (conferred by the UGC, India)
  • NAAC Grade (3rd Cycle): ‘A’ Grade
  • NIRF All India Ranking 2021 by MHRD, Govt of India: 64
  • Autonomous College Since 2014
  • NAAC Mentor College (Under UGC Paramarsh Scheme)
  • DBT (STAR COLLEGE Scheme) Funded
  • RUSA (UGC Scheme) Funded
  • 4 Stars for Innovation 2021 from IIC, MHRD, New Delhi
  • SES REC Institution 2020
  • FIST 2020 Research Project awarded

The College has 23 departments, 15 PG programmes 23 UG programmes and 10 research centres. More than 30 scholars have been awarded Ph.D from the research centres of the College. Currently more than 150 research scholars are pursuing Ph.D under 49 research guides. Alumni association, PTA and Management of the College are active in promoting the academic and administrative aspects of the College. 


  • Oldest Catholic College in Kerala, with over 130 years’ tradition of social commitment and helping local community.
  • Shown mettle in academics, social responsibility, national integration and global outlook.
  • Student-centric pedagogy, governance and administration.
  • Active participation of all stakeholders in academics and administration. Horizontal and lateral approaches, rather than top-down and vertical approaches.
  • Students win high positions in university exams, UGC/CSIR/NET/JRF and many of them join for research.
  • Students with social and national commitment take up ventures which brighten and positively develop local community and the nation.
  • Students, emerge winners in national and international level sports, games and cultural festivals.
  • Ten departments are recognized as research centres by the affiliating University.
  • Women Cell supervises activities and facilities for women.
  • Highly qualified, experienced and energetic faculty.
  • Pro-active support by the management in introducing new technology and expanding infrastructural facilities. Grooming of intellectual culture among students through international exposure, interaction with eminent personalities and cutting edge research.
  • Promotion of value based education is materialized with orientation talks by intelligentsia.
  • Skill-based value added courses are availed.
  • State-of-the-art technology and equipment in Science laboratories and Visual Media Laboratories.
  • Academic and administrative processes are effected through academic software platform, high computer/student ratio, Wi-Fi and internet coverage in the whole campus and online journals and e-books.
  • A library with around one lakh books to its credit.
  • The feedback of the students, alumni and other stakeholders are considered while designing the syllabi. The curriculum is restructured so as to make the students fit to meet the academic and job market demands.
  • Foolproof internal assessment is done by way of internal exams, seminars, assignments etc. Systematic and rigorous methods are employed in conducting the end semester exams.
  • International students are given admission based on student exchange programme by Government.
  • MoUs and partnership with national and international institutions and organizations.
  • A campus friendly with students who are differently abled by offering them various facilities like ramps, computer screen reader software etc.
  • International and national visibility through innovative conferences and seminars.
  • Career Guidance and Placement Cell trains students in soft skill development and coaches them to excel in their career.