The Malayalam Department has been functioning from the very beginning of the College. Majority of the students opt Malayalam as their Second Language and come out with flying colours. Eminent teachers like Prof. Joseph Mundassery (eminent Malayalam literary critic and orator, former Vice Chancellor of Cochin University and Minister for Education, Kerala), Chummar Choondal Ph.D. (renowned folklorist, performance artist and recepient of Indira Gandhi Award), Prof. Shri. Edamarath Sebastian, Prof. P. C. Devassia (author of Kristubhagavatam), Prof. C. L. Antony (author of Bhasapathangal) Shri. C.K.Warrier, Shri. K.P. Urumese, Shri. Vaidyalinga Sharma, Shri. K.T. Antony, Shri. C.V. Cherunny, Shri. T.D. Kochupaulose, Shri. T.L. Jose Ph.D., Shri. N.O. George and Sheeba M. Kurian have served this Department. Sri. C.J. George, a former member of the Dept., won the I.C. Chacko Endowment Award of the Kerala Sahitya Academy in 2002 for his Vâkkinte Samûhya Šâstram (Trichur: Current Books, 1998).

Courses Offered in Programmes Listed Below

  • UG BA
  • BSc,B.Com


1. Mr. K. T. Antony Scholarship for proficiency in Malayalam in II Year Degree
2. Mr. John Kuttanchery Scholarship for the student who is first in Malayalam for BA/B.Sc./B.Com.
3. M. Kunjan Nair Memorial Endowment for the B.A. student of this College, who passes on the first attempt of the University Examination, in all parts and who secures the highest mark in part II Malayalam
4. Rev. Dr. Antony Panengadan Memorial cash award instituted by his brothers Devassy, Paul and Vincent for the Student who secures maximum marks in malayalam for degree examinations. (Interest Amount of Rs. 20,000, dated 11-07-2011)