Starting from 1926, Department of mathematics in St. Thomas College, Thrissur serves the nation by training students in the field of Mathematics and related areas.

Mile Stones

  • B.A. programme in Mathematics under Madras University was started in June 1926.
  • It was then converted to B.Sc. Degree programme in Mathematics under the University of Kerala in June 1957.
  • M.Sc. Mathematics programme was started in June 1964.
  • The Department was recognised as a Research Centre in Mathematics by the University of Calicut on 26th march 2015.

Programmes offered

  1. B.Sc Mathematics (complementary courses: Statistics, Physics)
  2. B.Sc Mathematics (complementary courses: Statistics, Computer Science)
  3. M.Sc Mathematics
  4. Ph.D

Certificate Courses

  1. Quantitative aptitude for Competitive examinations (for UG Mathematics students)
  2. Programming with Python (for PG Mathematics students)
  3. Introduction to Matrices (online )
  4. Introduction to Differential Calculus (online)
  5. Introduction to Integral Calculus (online)

Value added course

  1. Matrix theory for Economists (online)

Regular activities

  1. Dr. Thomas Moothedan memorial lecture series on Applied Mathematics.
  2. Prof. M. D. Paul memorial Inter collegiate – interschool Mathematics Quiz
  3. Day observation: Pi -day
  4. Day observation: National Mathematics day
  5. Math-Wissen: journal published by M.Sc Students.

Eminent Personalities

Late Prof. V. Subbaraman was the first Head of the Department of Mathematics.

Rev. Fr. (Dr.) Thomas Moothedan D.D., the noted Biblical scholar and translator of the first authorised version of the Catholic edition of the Bible in Malayalam, was a member of the Department and later became the Principal of the College from 1961 to 1971.

Noted mathematician Shri. V. K. Krishnan Ph.D., whose Functional Analysis and Fundamentals of Real Analysis have been published respectively by the Prentice-Hall and Pearson Education, was a member of the Department.

Eminent teachers like K. M. Antony, A.T. Antony, K.V. Ignatious, V.R. Krishna Chandran (an authority on the traditional Kerala theatre and whose Purusarthakuthu is published by the Kerala Sahitya Academy), C. Balakrishnan, K.Achutha Warrier, S.Jayaram, Alosius Boustine, K. M. Thomas, Thomas K. Kuruvila, E.K. Jose, C.D. Paul, M.D. Paul, T.P. Jose, M.D. Varghese, P. L. Antony  C. I. Thomas and Vincent Joseph Pulikkottil served the Department.

Dr. P .L. Antony was the first controller of examinations and was a vice principal of the college.