Research Scholars Meet-2016 will be held on 18 Feb 2017 from 9.30am to 4pm in the Menachery Hall of the college. All Research Council Members and Research Scholars are requested to attend the programme without fail.

The Research Council of St. Thomas’ College, Thrissur, organised the Annual Research Scholars’ Meet -2017 on the 18th of February 2017 at Menacherry Hall of the College.

Inaugural session: Registration was over by 10.00 am followed by the Inaugural session in Menacherry Hall. Dr. Joby Thomas’ K (Research Council Coordinator) welcomed the gathering. Dr. Jenson P. O. (Principal) delivered the Presidential address. His Excellency Mar Raphael Thattil, the manager of the college and Auxiliary Bishop of Thrissur Arch diocese inaugurated the meeting and exhorted the audience to increase their research output in terms of quality and quantity to match global standards. He presented mementoes to Dr. Nimmy Kuriakose and Dr Annamma George (in absentia) who were awarded the Ph.D. degree in the current academic year. The Chief Guest of the Day Dr. Mani K.P. delivered the Keynote address.  The Bursar of the college Rev. Dr. Martin Kolambrath felicitated the Research Council. Dr. Anto P. V. proposed the vote of Thanks.

Technical Session I (11: am) the technical session was led by Dr. Mani K.P. Head of the Department of Economics, Calicut University. He had the audience in thrall while he dealt with Conceptual and Methodological issues of research. He was introduced by Dr. Thomas Paul Kattookaran (Vice Principal). Dr. Chacko V.M. (Joint Coordinator of the Research council) proposed vote of thanks for him. This was followed by a session of self introduction by research scholars. Research Scholars of Chemistry and Mathematics introduced themselves.

Technical Session II (01.30 pm) After lunch, the second technical session commenced. Mr. Sanjo Jose introduced SciFi to the audience. Dr. Nasser M., Head of the Department of Zoology and Director of Research, Calicut University. He clarified the positives, negatives and ambiguities regarding the 2016 UGC Regulations for Research. He was introduced by Dr. Francy K. Kakkassery (Head of the Department of Zoology). Dr. Anto Thomas (Head of the Department of English) proposed vote of thanks for him.

Panel Discussion: Dr. Ignatious Antony (Vice principal) was moderator for the panel discussion that followed. The panel included Dr. Nasser M., Dr. Jenson P.O. and Dr. Joby Thomas K. The panel discussion was the most lively and appreciated session of the day with research scholars asking many doubts regarding the new regulations, regulations regarding selection of guides and co-guides, Ph.D. registration processes, course work processes and other administrative formalities This was followed by a session of self introduction by research scholars where research scholars of the remaining departments introduced themselves.

Valedictory function: The valedictory session consisted of a brief summing up by the Principal Dr. Jenson P.O. before he distributed the certificates to all participants. The Joint convener Dr Joyce Jose proposed the Vote of Thanks.

Total Participation: Twenty research guides, one post doctoral fellow, 60 research scholars, three prospective students and one scholar who was awarded Ph.D. in the current year attended the Research Scholars meet.

Total attendance was 85.

Published On: February 18th, 2017Categories: College News, Research-seminar

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Latest News