The Research Council of St. Thomas’ College (Autonomous), Thrissur, organized the Centenary Research Scholars’ Meet -2019 and a National Seminar on Qualitative Research more grandly in connection with Centenary Celebrations of the College on 02nd March, 2019 at Medlycott Hall, Menacherry Hall and Hall No. 18 of the College with multiple programmes useful to research scholars and guides of the college. The sessions during the sessions were highlighted with qualitative research as well as promoting a systematic and scientific researches in various disciplines. There are 9 Research departments/ centers in our college, with 140 scholars and 40 guides. From all these departments 120 had attended this conference very actively and made this venture highly fruitful and it was really a motivation for the future endeavors of Research Council in the college. An eventful brief report of the same presented here.

Inaugural Session (9.30-10.30 a.m):

            Registration of the meet was started at 9 a.m by the committee- concerned and was over by 9:30 am. It was followed by an inaugural session in Medlycott Hall. Dr. Joby Thomas K (Research Council Coordinator) welcomed the gathering. Dr. Ignatius Antony (Principal) delivered the Presidential Address. His Excellency Mar Tony Neelankavil, the Manager of the college and Auxiliary Bishop of Archdiocese of  Thrissur delivered the keynote address and congratulated the Council for organizing such a meet magnificently and also congratulated Dr.Dhanya Shankar (Economics) and Dr.Harish (Commerce), Ph.D holders from the centre during the year. Dr. Sabu Thomas, Vice Chancellor, Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam inaugurated the meeting via teleconference by stressing the need for qualitative research in our country  by pointing out his own experience in and outside India and he has  invoked our scholars the need for  Research temper and ‘to strive and  seek’  for true research spirit. Rev. Fr. Varghese Kuthur, Executive Manager and Bursar of the college felicitated on the occasion. Dr. Johns Naduvath, Convenor of the meet, proposed the vote of thanks by the end of inaugural session.


Technical Session (10:45 am) – The technical sessions were divided into two for different streams such as one for science and other one for Arts and Commerce.


  1. Science Stream: The Technical Session for Science stream was conducted in Menacherry hall and led by Dr. M.K. Jayaraj, Professor of Physics, CUSAT. He could successfully explain the Methodology, Ethics and Challenges of Research in Science in an interesting way and that the audience was very much inspired. He was introduced by Dr. Chacko V.M (Joint Coordinator of the Research Council) and Dr. Joyce Jose, (Faculty, Zoology Dept.) proposed vote of thanks for him.
  2. Humanities and Languages: The technical Session for Arts and Commerce (Humanities and Languages) was conducted in Hall No: 18 and led by Dr. Gabriel Simon Thattil, Professor of Commerce, Kerala University. His class was highly remarked by the scholars for his depth knowledge in Research methodologies in Arts and Commerce field. He was introduced by Dr. Thomas Paul Kattookaran, (Vice Principal and HoD, Commerce Dept) and the research scholar Ms. Anu Antony (English Dept.) proposed vote of thanks by the end of the session.

After Noon Session:  Presentation by Research Scholars and Panel Discussion at Menachery Hall

During afternoon all the research scholars from different streams introduced themselves and presented a brief report /progress of their work in 1-minute duration at Menachery Hall followed by lunch break.

Panel Discussion:  At sharp 1:30 p.m started the Panel Discussion. Rev. Dr. Martin K.A, Vice Principal was the moderator for the panelists. The Panelists were Dr. Joby Thomas K, Council Co ordinator, Dr. Ignatius Antony, Principal, Dr. M.K. Jayaraj, Expert from Science and Dr. Gabriel Simon Thattil, Arts and Commerce section expert. The panel discussion was the lively one and was highly appreciated session of the day as research scholars could raise many doubts regarding rules and regulations, selection of guides, Ph.D registration and course work processes and also other administrative formalities to be followed to do research seriously in our campus.

Valedictory Session:  Dr. Viju M.J,Joint convener of the programme  welcomed the participants during the valedictory session. This session consisted of a brief summing up by Dr. Ignatius Antony,Principal. Dr. Joy K.L and Dr. Thomas Paul Kattookaran,Vice Principals  distributed the certificates to the participants of the meet. The Convener Dr. Johns Naduvath proposed the Vote of Thanks. The session was concluded by a photo session of scholars along with Principal and Guides.

Total Participation: Scholars’ Meet-2019 was attended by 27 Guides, 92 research scholars and one council member and thus Total Attendance was 120.

Published On: March 2nd, 2019Categories: College News, Research-seminar

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Latest News