About Department

The Malayalam Department has been functioning from the very beginning of the College. Majority of the students opt Malayalam as their Second Language and come out with flying colours. Eminent teachers like Prof. Joseph Mundassery (eminent Malayalam literary critic and orator, former Vice Chancellor of Cochin University and Minister for Education, Kerala), Chummar Choondal Ph.D. (renowned folklorist, performance artist and recepient of Indira Gandhi Award), Prof. Shri. Edamarath Sebastian, Prof. P. C. Devassia (author of Kristubhagavatam), Prof. C. L. Antony (author of Bhasapathangal) Shri. C.K.Warrier, Shri. K.P. Urumese, Shri. Vaidyalinga Sharma, Shri. K.T. Antony, Shri. C.V. Cherunny, Shri. T.D. Kochupaulose, Shri. T.L. Jose Ph.D., Shri. N.O. George and Sheeba M. Kurian have served this Department. Sri. C.J. George, a former member of the Dept., won the I.C. Chacko Endowment Award of the Kerala Sahitya Academy in 2002 for his Vâkkinte Samûhya Šâstram (Trichur: Current Books, 1998).

Year of Establishment 1919
Names of Programmes/ Courses offered
(UG,PG, M.Phil., Ph.D., Integrated Masters; Integrated Ph.D.,etc.)
Names of Interdisciplinary courses and the departments/units involved Name Departments involved
Second Language All the departments of UG courses
Annual/semester/choice based credit system(programme wise) Choice Based Credit and semester System